歷史

Carey Hall 是位處卑詩大學校園的克里威廉神學院及學生宿舍的所屬組織,由卑詩省浸信會公會創立。1975年訂立的歸屬協議,將Carey Hall歸為加西浸聯會事工。


 

克里威廉神學院是在1959年,透過Carey Hall法案在卑詩省成立。Carey自1960年夏天開始營運,為42位卑詩大學男學生提供住宿、並見證基督信仰的機會。1975年,為設立研究所成立基金會,進而於1980年六月成立浸信會研究學院。Carey 學生宿舍於1985年起也招收女生,並持續為卑詩大學學生提供基督的社群。該學院當時提供研究所、博士班、推廣教育課程。

1991年,神學院和學院宿舍分為獨立機構,並更名為克里威廉神學院(Carey Theological College)以及克里威廉中心(Carey Centre)。克里威廉研究所(Carey Institute)也於2006年成立,為渴望進深神學教育和領導能力,但無法按傳統方式攻讀學位的信徒,提供另一種學習方式。克里威廉研究所經常舉辦工作坊、研討會、座談會、技能訓練、宣教體驗、媒體發表活動,並提供傳統的授課模式和針對不同文化而設計的神學教育,以裝備靈命成熟的基督徒,在全職服事和平信徒事奉中,整合神學實踐與日常生活。

最近,Carey採取了一項新的策略,把我們教職員的熱誠、技能和專業能力結合在同一個單位,稱為克里威廉神學院。作為有認證的學術單位,Carey的根基是以基督為中心、忠於聖經,又聚焦在宣教上,且持續委身為神的大家庭提供世界級的神學學位,以及基督徒的門徒訓練。

HISTORY

Carey Hall was created by the Convention of Baptist Churches of BC, as the organizing body for Carey Theological College and Carey Hall Residence on the University of British Columbia campus. By an affiliation agreement in 1975, Carey Hall is now administered as a ministry of the Canadian Baptists of Western Canada.


 

Carey was established in 1959 by the Province of British Columbia under the Carey Hall Act. Carey began operations in the summer of 1960 as a Christian witness and residence for 42 undergraduate men on the UBC campus. In 1975, a foundation for a graduate school was initiated, which led to the establishment of a Baptist graduate college in June, 1980. The Carey residences became co-ed in 1985, and continue to provide a Christian community for UBC students on campus. The college offered graduate, doctoral, and continuing-education programs of study.

In 1991 the residence and college were separated and renamed as Carey Theological College and Carey Centre. Carey Institute was established in 2006 to fill an educational gap for people wanting to further their theological education and leadership skills through non-traditional means. Carey Institute hosted workshops, seminars, dialogues, skill-building, mission experiences, and short media presentations. Carey Institute also used traditional course formats and culturally contextualized theological education to prepare and equip spiritually maturing persons to integrate theological commitment with life in professional and lay ministry.

Recently Carey adopted a new strategic plan that brings together the passion, skills and expertise of our staff and faculty to be known as one entity; Carey Theological College.  As an accredited academic institution grounded in Christ-centred, biblically-faithful, and missions-focussed Christian leadership, Carey continues to be committed to offering world-class theological degrees and Christian discipleship training to the whole family of God.